Certification Requirements


Project Management Institute (PMI) is the global standard for Project Management certification. So if you are thinking of pursuing certification, you will want to familiarize yourself with their site and requirements. Several certifications are available:

PMP Requirements

To apply for the PMP, you need to meet the following eligibility requirements:

For further details, view the PMP Handbook:

    PMP Handbook

If you do not meet PMP eligibility requirements, you may want to look at the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM)® certification.

Visit PMI’s website for the most up to date information on certification requirements.


PMP Exam Format

The following provides an outline of the PMP exam content and provides the percentages of questions related to each knowledge area:

   PMI's PMP Exam Content Outline

PMP Exam Tips

Exam Tips help you prepare for and pass the PMI exam.

Continuing Education Requirements / Maintaining Your Credential

Once you become certified, you will need to maintain certification status. As part of the Continuing Certification Requirements program, you will need to earn 60 PDUs per three-year cycle to maintain your credential.

To learn more about the requirements, visit Maintaining Your Credential.